Sunday, 26. February 2006
Cuddly Lara
I finished my very first sweater some time ago, but haven't gotten around to posting pictures yet. Here's Lara, in all her glory:



and an artsy shot with gratuitous piano:



Lara's got quite a story. My boyfriend gave me an autographed Debbie Bliss "Alpaca Silk" book for my birthday, and said "choose a design, I'll buy the yarn". Having never finished a real sweater before, I chose Lara. I started it on our Christmas holiday (with a few modifications, like using loads of provisional cast-ons, knitting the arms in the round and knitting the front ribbing last) and got quite far on the looooooong stretches of stockinette while watching my boyfriend play "Burnout 3". When we got back, it got stalled a bit, with the big lump on my needles:

But shortly afterwards, I was nearly done:

and then I took out the provisional cast-ons at the side and bound them off together:

and all that was left then was to knit loads and loads of ribbing. I finished at the end of January.

Since then, I knit another pair of socks for my Mum's birthday (the "Diagonal Rib Socks" from the Interweave website), but I made them symmetric.



And a quick knit was a headband inspired by Nakiska.


Look what I also got - my first spindle! The yarn looks kind of kinky, but I think I'll get there!

|